garrylengthorn

31-jan-12

In Uncategorized on January 30, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Day 31. We’ve done it (double yippee)! This morning we completed 3.5 miles to complete our janathon and total up 50 miles.

20120130-230701.jpg

If you had asked me a week ago if our total was possible, I would have been very doubtful. At 6.40 this morning, I was even more doubtful, but willpower is a marvellous thing.

Total #janathon mileage after day 31 is 50.19 miles.

20120131-080521.jpg

Well I head to work now wondering what challenge I take on in February with the London to Brighton bike ride only 12+ weeks away, but one thing you can be sure of is that my blog will continue in to February. Thanks for reading so far, as it has certainly spurred me on. A special mention also to Grainne, who has stuck with it during January and could easily have given it up.

Today’s song choices did not include this band, but I thought it appropriate for my #lyricathon today. Yesterday’s answer was Elvis Costello and “watching the detectives”.

“I’ve paid my dues
Time after time
I’ve done my sentence
But committed no crime
And bad mistakes
I’ve made a few
I’ve had my share of sand kicked in my face
But I’ve come through”

And now my daily #jokeathon

One man’s hobby was running, he spent all his weekends on the park trails, paying no attention to weather.

One Sunday, early in the morning, he went to the park as usual. It was still dark, cold and raining, so he decided to return back to his house.

He came in, went to his bedroom, undressed and laid near his wife. “What terrible weather today honey,” he said to her. “Yes,” she replied “but my idiot husband still went running!”

And my quote for the day. A bonus point for getting the person. Yesterday’s was the words of Winston Churchill.
“The important thing in life is not to triumph but to compete”.

How appropriate for all those folk competing in janathon.

  1. Well done Garry! Glad you’re keeping the blog going!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

