garrylengthorn

13-feb-12

In Uncategorized on February 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm

After Saturday’s big night out, we had a very relaxing Sunday evening just chilling. For me, that was looking at holiday rentals for the summer and restoring Georgina’s brickbreaker game on her Blackberry. Not quite so rock and roll as Saturday, but was needed to recharge the batteries for the next week at work, whilst the rest of the family enjoy half term!

20120213-193200.jpg

If only I had some more holidays spare, but this year we have a lot on and my allocation is nearly already depleted.

Thankfully my foot feels much better (I guess Saturday’s dancing has helped). Still won’t be running for a few days though!

Today is my sister-in-law, Karen’s birthday, so a big best wishes to her on her special day.

At work today, we went live today with a new product, Good, which we’ve rolled out globally (email – like Blackberry – but for Apple IOS and android devices). By close of business today, we’ve seen a good steady uptake to the service, which is encouraging. Well done to the team again (won’t mention individually, as bound to overlook someone).

20120213-193955.jpg

Apart from that, today was about the financial aspect of my role. Although it was also coincidental that I was reviewing budgets, we have some challenges around some projects that need some negotiating commercials with suppliers. Something I’ve always enjoyed doing in my role.

In terms of budgets, it was reviewing spend against our period 2 predictions (our financial year starts in December, so P2 is January). I must admit that I never thought I would do this level of forecasting within my job, but again something I enjoy.

And finally, just a big thanks to everyone who regularly follows my blog. Last week was my most successful yet with over 200 reads.

My quote for the day. A bonus point for getting the person. Yesterday’s was the words of Katherine Hepburn.

“All good things arrive unto them that wait – and don’t die in the meantime”.

And my lyrics. Yesterday was of course Whitney Houston and “The greatest love of all”, but the original I was referring to was George Benson. What another legend.

“(Ooh) Hey my girl
She does something to my chemistry
And when I’m close I’m sure
I raise her temperature
’bout three degrees

Everyday, yeah
In every way she
Makes my motor purr
And I reciprocate
My life I dedicate to lovin’ her”

  1. There was a nice little buzz at CMEP today around Good, and on the iPad / Android remote access…

    • That’s great to hear Bob. Was it all the UK guys or internationals as well? Hope the course went well?

      • All UK.
        Yep, it went extremely well. SThree’s getting quite slick at this sort of thing, isn’t it…
        Looking forward to tomorrow’s session now.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

