garrylengthorn

16-feb-12

In Uncategorized on February 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

After last night’s demolishing by Milan, today we hold a minite silence for those Arsenal fans, whose season hinges on the weekend FA cup fixture with Sunderland. As a life long Millwall fan, I can understand how it feels to be without a trophy for a number of seasons!

I’m sure we all sympathise!

20120216-152157.jpg

On this day in 1959, Fidel Castro was sworn in as Cuba’s youngest ever premier. Visiting Cuba was certainly an experience last year and everywhere you go, you are reminded of the impact that he and Che Guevara had on this small Caribbean island. Power to the people!

Today at work, we experienced a major failure of our global BT network due to a failure in Crawley. Bizarre that a West Sussex town can play such a big role in a service issue affecting a number of multi national global companies!

Thankfully our network design meant we minimised the impact to our business. Well done to Carlos.

0n the consumerisation front today, James B Demonstrated an Apple TV unit being used to wirelessly show some content with sound through a projector. Cool stuff. Especially as the content was a racing game. Amazing how many heads this turned in the department!

Good was phased out to a further set of customers today. Becoming our number one mobile service might be closer than I think, as nearly 300 consumers now!

As expected, I failed my late fitness test for football (and the pub), even though i tried standing on one leg whilst brushing my teeth, so the family will be shocked to see me tonight at a reasonable time (and on two legs).

My quote for the day. A bonus point for getting the person. Yesterday’s was the words of Lucile Ball.

“During the past few decades, modern technology, with radio, TV, air travel, and satellites, has woven a network of communication which puts each part of the world in to almost instant contact with all the other parts”.

And my lyrics. Yesterday was the temptations and “I’ve got sunshine on a cloudy day (my girl)”.

“The place that I come from
I barely remember
The place that I come from
I barely remember
But the soul of my people
Will be with me forever
The soul of my people
Will be with me forever

Swept by an ocean of beautiful memories
Swept by an ocean of beautiful memories
Of people and places
That I carry with me
Of people and places
That I carry with me”.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

