garrylengthorn

11-mar-12

In Uncategorized on March 11, 2012 at 9:14 am

Today, my opening picture includes me (for a change) in the oldest riverside pub in London.

20120311-091603.jpg

The Prospect of Whitby was built circa 1520 and has hosted some famous individuals over time. We thought it appropriate to have a picture of me doing my blog with the famous diarist, Samuel Pepys, in the background. Maybe in around another 500 years, my blogs will be used in much the same way as his diaries to create an image of London life during this period? Hmm! Unlikely!

We also took in the Captain Kidd and Town of Ramsgate pubs on our travels after a quick cruise down the Thames to Canary Wharf. A east end London pub crawl I would recommend to anyone.

To close out the day, a green Thai curry in Thai Silk just behind The Cut in Southwark. The railway arches just behind The Cut is a bit of a hidden gem with fancy little bars and restaurants that are not that expensive considering their London location.

20120311-094548.jpg

Unfortunately a poor result again for Millwall yesterday with some sloppy defending. Looks like we face a nervy few weeks until the end of season!

To close today, the historic surroundings in East London made me think of this classic Blackadder moment that created a number of immortal one liners!

  1. In pubs again Garry!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

