garrylengthorn

15-mar-12

In Uncategorized on March 14, 2012 at 10:26 pm

This afternoon I am at a Polycom Unified Communications demo in Old Broad Street, hence again my blog was written a bit earlier than normal.

20120315-192452.jpg

For someone who was born in South London, it’s surprising how unfamiliar I am with the City of London and the last couple of days have made me realise how much I am looking forward to exploring the city once we move uptown. This mood might change though once the transport system breaks!

Yesterday’s Good Mobility Summit was very good with some good speakers and interesting presentations. Especially some interesting synergies between Sainsbury’s deployment of Good and ours, as well as some interesting statistics as normal from IDC.

One of the key take aways for me was how Sainsbury’s deliver a BYOD (bring your own device) Wi-Fi network at all their offices and stores as a kind of sweetener for staff using their own devices. Something we plan to also do over the summer months.

Consumerisation is definitely a major step change in our industry and is going to be driving some interesting developments!

This morning included an interesting meeting around staffing and capitalising their costs when working on projects. Although not the most riveting subject, a nice accounting technique for depreciating your costs and minimising the impact on your operational budget!

Next was a Project update meeting for our Oracle migration to Exadata. With the Good summit fresh in mind, it made me think we must develop an app soon that can utilise our key Business Intelligence data in a secure container like Good!

The morning was rounded off with an update with my CIO. Lance was in Germany last week, so loads to catch up on, and plenty for him to delegate, as always!

Tomorrow I am on holiday, but I will provide an update on my Polycom visit and reveal what joys I have had on my Friday away from IT management!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

