garrylengthorn

12-May-12

In Uncategorized on May 12, 2012 at 2:34 pm

We had a fab night out last night to kick start the weekend. I won’t bore you with the absolute details, but my wife and I ended up having an absolute fabulous Thai in a restaurant on Wandsworth common.

It was strange when I left our Bank office, as there was four of our department playing table tennis whilst about another six or seven playing Fifa on the Playstation. If it was our old Wimbledon office, it would have been deserted. Certainly the break area is having a positive impact on our rapport value!

My landmark poser from yesterday related to the Bank of England was not answered! George Soros – the man who broke the bank of England by anticipating the Black Wednesday crash in 1992 has an unusual talent in that he speaks the artificial language of Esperanto, of which there are only around 1000 native speakers!

Today’s poser relates to London Bridge station, one of my routes to work.

20120512-161806.jpg

There is an unusual fact about the tube station line configuration at London Bridge. What is it?

Today’s been a lazy day planning our holiday for the summer. After that I spent an hour or so getting our bikes ready for our night bike ride tonight and for the BHF ride in two weeks time.

I also took time out to make a bet on the premiership battle tomorrow, which is unusual for me, but I could not resist odds of 50-1 to place Newcastle 3rd, with Arsenal in 4th and Spurs in 5th! Worth a fiver to make tomorrow’s games interesting!

20120512-162950.jpg

There are now 76 days to the Olympics. Yesterday’s blog event was related to Alexander Popov, who won 4 golds at the 1992 and 1996 at 50 and 100 metres in Swimming.

My athlete today is Vasily Alekseyev. Considered widely as the greatest super heavyweight, but in what sport?

The highlight of the day had to be the fact that i have scoffed a chocolate cookie and some chocolates, but this will all be sweated off by my bike ride later!

  1. I thought it might be the only station that has two lines where you can’t get onto the district line without changing. But Finchley Road and Wembley Park share that title.

  2. Don’t know about the line configuration, but it’s the only tube station with ‘London’ in its name.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

