garrylengthorn

13-May-12

In Uncategorized on May 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

I felt extremely tired this morning after my 3 hour – 27 mile cycle ride last night.

The ride consisted mainly of the CS7 cycle highway that runs from Collier Wood following the Northern line to Elephant and Castle and then via Southwark Bridge. It was strange cycling through the city late at night.

This is certainly valuable seat time in preparation for the ride, but I’m aware that this is still less than 50% of the distance I need to do on the night. Doh!

20120513-113725.jpg

My landmark poser from yesterday related to London Bridge and an unusual fact about the tube station line configuration at London Bridge? It is only one of seven tube stations where the track is right hand running. The majority of stations are left hand running like our roads.

Today’s poser relates to the Golden Hinde replica, which sits just across the river from our office in Pickfords Wharf.

20120513-113443.jpg

Most people know this was Sir Francis Drake’s warship, but do you know where he was awarded his knighthood by Queen Elizabeth?

After a late brunch of smoked haddock and scrambled eggs, I plan to do another cycle ride shortly, but it’s only likely to be an hour so that I know I have 30+ miles to my name this weekend.

I had a bit of a play on the Olympic web site trying to secure some tickets earlier. For a short while I got excited, as I thought I was going to secure some athletics tickets, but it was short lived, as it then notified me that the tickets were not available! I’m assuming that they don’t have a block of 4. Will try again tomorrow.

Once the bike ride is complete, I hope to settle down for the premiership battles ahead and the added excitement of seeing how my bet pans out (see my blog yesterday for the details).

We also hope to get across to our best friends, Julie and Graham, to see their newly born child.

There are now 75 days to the Olympics. Yesterday’s blog event was related to Vasily Alekseyev. Considered widely as the greatest super heavyweight in Weighlifting!

Deng Yaping is regarded as one of the greatest players in the history of her sport winning 4 Olympic golds. She must have done plenty of chops and twiddles to win this discipline?

The highlight of the day has to be the fact that we hope to see our God daughter Emily later and her new brother James.

  1. So when you say “the track”, do you mean just the Northern Line – ’cause I’m pretty sure the Jubilee line is left hand running (or am I going mad?)…

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

