garrylengthorn

15-May-12

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Sometimes I struggle to know what to put in my blog and today is one of those days, as it’s a Tuesday, very little has happened of note and I’m trying to get it published early.

I’m often asked why I do it and I think its because I’ve enjoyed sharing my trials and tribulations over the last few months, albeit it does sometimes make you wonder “why?”

Last night I spent most of the evening ordering accessories for the bike ride. Therefore it was a pretty uneventful apart from the fact that Grainne did a fabulous chicken pasta dinner.

My landmark poser from yesterday was related to King William Street, the street our Bank office resides in.
Between 1890 and 1900 it housed a tube station that eventually closed due to it’s capacity. The Spanish solution was the name inherited from the tube system in Spain that offered a platform on one side of the line to enter the train and a platform on the opposite side to exit. This was seen as an effective way to ease congestion. Clever eh!

Today’s poser is easier, as clearly everyone is struggling with these and is relation to the Monument.

20120515-132627.jpg

How many steps do you have to climb to reach the top?

As I eluded to earlier, today has been a bit of a non-event at work with less progress made than expected in a number of areas.

Saying that, there was some positives in the fact that we expect the email archiving pilot to start with staff at our own office next week.

We are also committed to making some quick wins in relation to improving our global service, which are about redesigning the entry point for support for our customers to improve their experience. In simple terms, this means revamping the home page of our support product and completely removing our existing section of the Intranet.

There are now 73 days to the Olympics. Yesterday’s blog event was related to a gentlemen called Bob Anderson. Although Bob did not become a champion in Fencing, he became a legend due to the Darth Vader light sabre scenes in Star Wars!

Today’s legend is James Hawkins, an Aussie who is famed for winning 3 golds, but for what discipline?

The highlight of the day has to be meeting up with my Henley Business School buddy, Dougal Crisp, who is Director of Finance at SThree. We catch up every month or so and tonight we are aiming to find an Henley Gold (beer) on our travels!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

