garrylengthorn

28-May-12

In Uncategorized on May 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

So my May project of cycling to Brighton is now over, I’m looking for my next project to keep me fit and active through the summer months (suggestions on a postcard please – well through my blog feedback).

20120528-211323.jpg

Ideally my next project will be an half marathon, as it’s high on my list of challenges to compete, so please let me know of any happening in the next 2-3 months (relatively near to London).

Although my body feels pretty good today, I have to say the mind is a tad tired through the lack of sleep!

Thankfully I’m coming to the end of my May challenge, which was to include a daily landmark picture local to our office in Bank.

Yesterday’s landmark building was the Guildhall. The Guildhall been used as a town hall for several hundred years, and is still the ceremonial and administrative centre of the City of London and its Corporation. The term Guildhall refers both to the whole building and to its main room, which is a medieval-style great hall. SThree hosted its 25th anniversary here and I have to say it is an incredible building.

Today’s landmark.

20120528-210806.jpg

Where is this building north of Bank station located? Not easy, but I’m not clowning around today!

My work day today has been full of budgets! So much so that I had to cancel a meeting this afternoon with a key supplier so that I could focus on our headcount projections.

Hopefully it’s now a bit clearer and I’m hoping that we can close this element out tomorrow.

Another subject that is popular at the moment is video conferencing, as the current economic climate and green thinking is making this an obvious initiative to promote. This is great news that the business value this service we provide and so we now need to make sure that our customers are fully refreshed on all aspects of using the technology.

There was some interesting stuff in the general news today with rumours that Facebook may bring out their own mobile products (interesting to see how that goes down) and that TFL may introduce pre-paid WiFi on the tube once the free trial period during the Olympics is over! I wonder how many people will really pay for this considering the service will not function when the train is in a tunnel!

There are now 61 days to the Olympics. Yesterday’s event that includes classes and bells was boxing.

Today’s event includes chips, dinks and elbows? It’s a relatively new event, but it sounds more like a dining moment!

Today’s highlight for me is around video conferencing, as I think both my team and our customers have got the perfect opportunity over the coming weeks to exploit this technology to reduce costs and improve our work life balance using our existing investment and some new features.

  1. Hi Garry, there’s the Dartford Half on July 20th. Also hillingdon half-marathon is in Uxbridge on June 15th and Borehamwood half is on the 22nd of June.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

