garrylengthorn

01-Jun-12

In Uncategorized on June 1, 2012 at 4:40 pm

My big news of the day is that I have become Director of IT Services at SThree. What a way to start the 4 day weekend!

As you can imagine, I am absolutely thrilled at receiving this recognition and although I’d like to thank everyone for their kind words in congratulating me, I’d like to thank all of my staff and seniors (past and present) that have supported me on my journey (getting tearful now).

So how could I follow this? Easy really, as it was back to meetings and my normal set of priorities, but before that I need to introduce a new blog section for June, which is name the Euro 2012 Championship team flag!

I know this might be easy for some people, but hopefully for everyone else, it will improve your general knowledge. Here’s today’s:

20120601-183503.jpg

Knowing that we had a lunch with a supplier in the afternoon, it was essential that I had a productive morning, which I did considering we also had a core IT management meeting mid morning.

Although a lot of email maintenance and approvals, it also involved a great deal of diary management for meetings for the weeks ahead!

I have to say that it is brilliant that I now don’t have the added challenge of managing my Outlook quota since we have started the archiving pilot. We roll this out to the business in just over 2 weeks time and I think this is going to be one of our most popular releases this year, but then Good is a hard act to follow!

Some interesting articles in the Twitter press today.

Transport for London (TfL) and Virgin Media have announced the first 80 stations that will receive free Wi-Fi in time for this summer’s Olympic Games. Interesting that London overground stations are also getting Wi-Fi, but providing it for free after the Olympics. Fair play to them!

Facebook have suffered a number of recent service disruptions. This won’t help the share price!

Windows 8 release preview is available. Worth downloading and having a play?

There are now 56 days to the Olympics. Yesterdays event that simply includes two laps of the running track was the 800 metres.

Today’s event includes K & C events, as well as slalom and sprints. What is it?

There can only be one highlight, which is the fact we have a Queen and a four day jubilee to look forward to. Thanks Liz.

  1. Well done Garry – Director of IT Services? That sounds VERY important.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

