garrylengthorn

15-Jun-12

In Blog, Consumerisation, Euro 2012, Technology on June 15, 2012 at 6:13 am

Republic of Ireland became the first team to fade out of Euro 2012 last night, which was a real shame considering the passion both their fans and players have brought to the tournament.

Is it just me or anyone else getting bored with Spain’s tippy tappy football? Don’t get me wrong, I love to see football played on the grass rather than in the clouds, but it’s just overdone and also becomes demeaning for the other dream.

I’d love to see a player the size of Peter Kay take out Iniesta or Xavi whilst yelling ‘ave it’! That might put them off their stride for 5 minutes.

Yesterday afternoon,I had the pleasure of being invited with one of my regular blog readers, James Bellshaw,to a graduation event and afternoon tea at the London Borough of Merton civic centre.

A few months ago, we hosted a full day session with a number of teenagers from the Greenfell association,who are based in Merton. The day, planned out by our staff, challenged the youngsters and provided them an opportunity to interact with the peers and our own staff.

It was a brilliant day and yesterday was an opportunity to celebrate their successes. The event, supported by the their local Labour MP was very humbling and something we were honoured to attend.

These young individuals are trying to find jobs during the most difficult recession in modern times and it was great to see their enthusiasm. Fingers crossed, they all get a bit of luck and get an opportunity to achieve their aspirations.

Of all the technology features I ever covered, this has got to be the daftest. Thanks to one of my colleagues at SThree for tweeting it to me.

20120615-080321.jpg

This solution keeps you dry, boosts yor mobile signal and provides a charger. This is truly consumerisation at it’s best!

  1. “I love to see football played on the grass rather than in the clouds, but it’s just overdone and also becomes demeaning for the other dream”. Freudian slip alert. The Irish team had little more than a dream to rely on. The belief they could recreate their Moscow qualifying heroics in every game and that Robbie Keane would roll back the years.

    “I’d love to see a player the size of Peter Kay take out Iniesta or Xavi whilst yelling ‘ave it’!” I think you’ll find that’s what Richard Dunne was for. Unfortunately, he couldn’t get close enough. Curse those nimble-footed matadors.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

