garrylengthorn

18-Jun-12

In Blog, Euro 2012, Technology on June 17, 2012 at 9:54 pm

A weekend of some dramatic moments in Euro 2012 has now shaped the the first two quarter finals and left us all waiting with baited breath for England’s game tomorrow.

What a boost for the Greek economy with their surprise participation in the next stage, but just like the Euro, the Germans will now influence their next key moment.

Did anyone else give up on England when we went 2-1 down to Sweden. How sloppy were we? We are going to have to be much better against Ukraine. I wonder if anyone predicted a 3-2 win in the football prediction game? Should Rooney be playing tomorrow. My view is no, as I think he has let England down on too many occasions in the past. Am I alone in my thinking?

The other big surprise at the weekend was how the tennis final at Queen’s club ended! For those who missed it, David Nalbandian was suspended in the final due to the fact that he kicked out in anger, broke an umpire’s chair and drew blood! It was intriging television, as the officials did not really have any choice but to default him due to the ATP rules. He did not help himself by then complaining about the ATP rather than apologising for being a complete idiot. Wonder how the poor umpire is doing today? Bet he has the right ache!

It’s certainly been a great couple of weeks at work for me with my recent promotion to director. On Friday, Russell Clements, our CEO, and Gary Elden, our Deputy CEO, took me and my colleagues on the core management team to a celebration lunch at Smith’s at Smithfield’s. I have to say that it was a brilliant afternoon with perfect food and great company. I made the mistake of sharing a night bus journey story with Gary and suspect that he won’t let me forget it! Thankfully, our future CEO is not on Twitter yet or is he?

After a great family weekend (party on Saturday at my niece Hayley) and being pampered on Father’s day (thank you Thomas and Georgina), I was given another surprise this morning, when one of my colleagues gave me a signed autograph of Chris Difford who he had met at the weekend.

20120618-133223.jpg

In case you don’t know, Chris is a singer / writer from the band Squeeze, of which I am a big fan. It was a brilliant surprise for a Monday morning, and perked me up, as I am struggling with man flu that I picked up over the weekend!

Over the weekend, we went live with email archiving across our business. As some of my regular readers probably realise, this has been work in progress for some months, so it’s brilliant that we have finally got past the winning post. Well done to all my colleagues who have been involved in delivering this.

Some staggering statistics from the initial hours of the launch. Nearly 800,000 emails archived, which equates to nearly 28gb of storage!

Reading my email today made me realise how many scams are still attempted on unsuspecting folk. The first one was to do with a Facebook verification process message that has gone out over the last few days, which I can see would cause some people to be concerned, but the second one was to do with a scam regarding the death of Vanilla Ice. Now I don’t want to appear too harsh, but would you not use someone a little more famous for this type of hoax?

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

