garrylengthorn

20-Jun-12

In Blog, BYOD, Consumerisation, Euro 2012, Technology on June 19, 2012 at 10:57 pm

So Rooney got his own back on me last night and scored his first goal at a major championship in 8 years! I take back everything I have said over the last few days, because without being brilliant, his goal was absolutely critical!

The big surprise was France getting beat. Can they bounce back and do everyone a favour and knock out the Spanish? Let’s hope so!

It was interesting yesterday that it was reported that UK canals are to be Google routes in the future making some route options more scenic. Let’s hope that they don’t misdirect you like some TomTom routes or you could have an early bath!

20120620-151551.jpg

After my blog section on Microsoft’s prototype Surface device (their entry in the tablet market), there was another interesting blog in Computer Weekly, which highlights how consumerisation has shifted the balance of power from the corporate IT decision maker to the consumer and how Microsoft are hoping that this might shift the balance back!

Personally I cannot see this happening unless the power of the brand in the consumer space shifts from Apple to Microsoft. Do you have a view?

This article from Communications Mobility claims that young workers view BYOD as a right and not a privilege. Hmm. What are this Generation Y like?

  1. I’ve come full circle on the tablet concept. Couldn’t see the point at first, then loved it, then got a bigger phone and can’t see the point again. There was a bloke on the train this morning using an iPad. He looked a dick. Everyone else was doing exactly the same thing on their phone, more discreetly. Microsoft are in danger of not just turning up late to a party but turning up to one that’s finished.

    Perhaps that’s a bit ott. Tablet perhaps succeeds laptop, but the phone is surely the killer app.

    As for the power of the brand, Microsoft certainly have one of those, it’s their phone I’m not convinced by.

    Oh and I don’t think France have gone home!

    • Thanks Matt. Swedes / French? How confused am I getting! My blog is corrected now!

      As for tablets, mobiles and slates. It is all about what you need to do and the convenience in doing it!

  2. Microsoft first released a product called Surface in 2007. It was a tabletop computer. Impressive, but difficult to carry about. It was like one of those bar table Space Invaders units that you could put your drinks on.

    I think the new gizmo has only inherited the name, but its size and detachable keyboard makes it look like a netbook with a makeover rather than a straight competitor for the iPad. Methinks the target market will be peeps who need to type with two fingers instead of one and are familiar with MS software. Expect BlackBerry users to start sniffing about.

    As for Sweden qualifying ahead of France, I now understand why you’re in 53rd spot on http://www.footballpredictiongame.co.uk.

    • I now clearly know that the way to generate debate is make a mistake in my blog! Sweden indeed!

      Whatever happened to those Space Invader tabletop devices. I’d love to have one now!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

