garrylengthorn

01-Jul-12 Show Business and 6 personal moments

In Blog, Personal, Sports on July 1, 2012 at 11:09 am

As its nearly 6 months since I starting writing my blog, I thought it good to set myself some targets (6 in fact) for the remainder of the year, which I can cover in my blog, as well as my normal mix of sport, technology and personal updates.

I had to think long and hard about these targets, which I have named personal moments, as I wanted them to be a combination that were achievable (if I set my mind to do them) and interesting for my regular readers (and maybe even new ones).

So these are my personal moments to do before the end of 2012.

– Run a half marathon
– Finish our loft (flooring, insulation and train set)
– Visit a new island in the UK
– Cook and Eat a fish I catch
– Get my blog on the freshly pressed homepage on WordPress
– Discover and meet a new relative

As you can see, there is a right mix here, which drives my passions around my personal loves, interests and overdue chores (loft)!

My blog over the coming weeks will explain more and will also update on progress (or lack of)

Today is the final of Euro 2012 between Italy and Spain. As most of you know already, I really fancy the Azzurri to come good tonight and I’m predicting a bold 2-0 win!

Although I’d love to watch this tonight, there is another significant event occurring in Kingston, which is my daughters dance show, “We are the Champions”, which this year has an Olympic theme.

20120701-133236.jpg

Every year, this show, performed by Dynamic Dance is brilliant considering the range of age groups and abilities and it is always rewarding to see the output of the effort put in by the dancers and their choreographer Emily Stephenson.

I bet Georgina is relieved that one of my personal moments was to not to appear in the next show! Actually that is probably a relief for everyone!

Last night, I’m sure like me, a number of you stayed up to watch the conclusion of Andy Murray’s match against Baghdatis. You can always rely on Wimbledon to produce a script that cannot be repeated elsewhere and last night’s was regarding the time of finish!

How ridiculous that the All England Club have to finish at 11pm when other slams around the world continue in to the early hours of the morning (if a match needs to be finished)!

Thankfully, Murray, who clearly did not want to have to wait until Monday, closed out the match, but let’s hope that this stupid bit of ruling can be fixed before the next significant grand slam match overruns!

  1. Perhaps one of your goals could be a guest appearance in my next show Gary? I stand by my declaration that I can teach anyone to dance. Sorry that you had to miss the Euro final, but it was worth it I’m sure!

    • Me appearing in your show! Now that might be a personal moment too far even with your teaching skills. How could we miss the show for a final. It is always a pleasure to come along and support what is always a great show.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

