garrylengthorn

03-Jul-12 Islands in the stream. Hmm. River!

In Blog, Consumerisation, Personal, Sports, Technology on July 3, 2012 at 6:37 am

After my request for ideas for my personal moments, I was inundated yesterday with Island ideas, which are all being considered for their merits! One of the options presented by one of my regular readers, Dave Timoney, was Eel Pie Island in Twickenham (on the River Thames), which I am not sure was at the forefront of my mind when I set myself this particular goal!

What I did not realise is that the island was known as a major jazz and blues venue in the 1960s. Obviously I am too young to know this!

20120703-174835.jpg

With the current water drought we are experiencing in the South East of England and the wonderful summer we are enjoying (note the sarcastic tone of that message), it was only inevitable that play at Wimbledon was postponed last night and therefore I found myself watching the “One day in London” documentary.

I have to say that it was very emotional to watch; especially as one of my former colleagues, Martine Wright, was one of the individual’s caught up in the whole 7/7 catastrophe. I hope the programme provided each individual what they needed to continue to cope with their lives, as it was a very moving documentary of a day that I hope none of us will ever witness again.

On a positive note, Martine has been selected to compete in the Paralympic games at the end of August and Im hoping that she can use her strength to come away with a medal, as no one would deny she deserves it. Saying that, everyone who completes in these games are legends.

In terms of Wimbledon, Djokovic yesterday produced a fabulous display that clearly stamped his mark on the tournament. At this point, I cannot see how Murray or even Federer would be able to touch him! Murray continues his match against Cilic today and no doubt it will be another see saw battle that keeps us all on the edge of our seats!

Some brilliant work life balance statistics on Twitter yesterday from Good Technology, which made me realise how much of an impact technology has had on all our daily lives:

– 57% of people check work email on family outings
– 38% check email at the dinner table
– 68% of people check work email before 8am
– 31% of survey respondents admit to continuing to work at home as they find it hard to ‘switch off.’
– 80% of people work after leaving the office, for an avg of 7 extra hrs/week. That’s a staggering extra 365 hours per year (40+ working days)!

Of concern to me is that I probably tick off most of these!

One other bit of news that came as a bit of a surprise yesterday is that it is rumoured according to this article from Computing that RIM, the troubled provider of Blackberry mobile devices could be the next mobile giant to adopt the Windows phone!

It’s an interesting option considering RIM are on their knees and need to respond to the market gain achieved by Apple and Google’s Android operating systems. It comes in light of the fact that Blackberry (version) 10 has already been delayed by more than a year to early 2013!

Roll on; BBM on a Windows device?

As I am now on holiday for a few days, there might be a bit of a gap for my blog, so there should be plenty of things to catch up on when I get back. You never know, I might even tackle one or two of my personal moments!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

