garrylengthorn

19-Jul-12 Back from Florida!

In Blog, Consumerisation, Personal, Sports, Technology on July 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Well, it’s been a while since my last blog and a lot has happened for me and my family, as we’ve just come back from two glorious weeks in Florida.

20120719-182700.jpg
Over the next week or so, I will fill in some of the holiday moments that have occurred and share some holiday pictures, but I start to write my blog, as the plane touches the outskirts of Ireland, the emerald isle.

Did I complete any of my personal moments during this two week spell? Well you might have to read more over the next few days and find out!

While I’ve been away, our British hopeful at Wimbledon, Andy Murray, just fell at the last hurdle again! Although to be fair, I was extremely disappointed for him, there was a secret part of me that was glad.

Not because he is Scottish or anything else to do with the fact that some people seem to loathe him because of his personality (I cannot stoop to that level), it was the fact we could not watch the final due to the 5 hour time difference and also because we were spending our first day in Orlando’s Universal Studio’s and I would have hated to miss the moment that the long wait was finally over! Hate to be selfish!

I also believe that our long summer drought has continued! 🙂

Florida has the most perfect summer weather for me. Hot and steamy during the day with fantastic thunderstorms later in the day.

As we return, there are now merely days to the Olympics opening ceremony. Although I know there are a number of people sceptical about the greatest event on the planet being held in London, I am thoroughly looking forward to seeing the greatest athletes on the planet strive to go faster,higher and better than anyone before them.

Let’s just hope that we can get a decent spell of dry weather, the transport system survives a major breakdown and that we can avoid any major disruptions due to extremists (London bus drivers)! At least the Jet Stream is now moving, so at least the weather has half a chance to improve!

If there is one app that has kept me, as well as the kids occupied over the last week or so, it is Angry Birds and the free seasons game that is out. It certainly kept me busy on the flight home until the iPod ran out of power, but it is so addictive, so download at your peril!

No technology updates today, as need to get myself back up to speed with Twitter and the world at large. All I will say is that I got the chance to visit the Kennedy Space Centre over the last fortnight in it’s 50th anniversary and what an experience that was being so close to technology that has taken us to the moon and beyond!

As I finish my blog, we are back home and the sun is shining. Yippee! Back to work tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

