garrylengthorn

23-Jul-12 More Florida and Major Players

In Blog, Consumerisation, Personal, Technology on July 20, 2012 at 4:53 pm

As I write my blog, it’s the start of my first full week at work after what was a fantastic 2 week break.

It was good to return on a Friday and it was made easier that my backlog of emails was cleared on holiday and during the flight back using my Good application!

I hate returning to a day of emails; especially when everyone wants to catch up on how your holiday went and you want to get up to speed with what’s gone on.

It seems everyone thought I was on a fishing trip to Florida; not sure why, but let me clear up here and now that we did a lot more than just fish. Well, at least in the first week! 😀

Unfortunately, although I caught a number of different species (Catfish, Pinfish, Sheepshead and even a Southern Sting Ray), I was not brave enough to cook any of the edible ones, so one of my personal moments to eat a fish that I have caught remained incomplete, which means that I am now on the look out for a trout or salmon fishing experience later this year.

Our two weeks in Florida started with 5 nights in Orlando, which was followed up with 9 nights in Siesta Keys, which is situated on the west coast of Florida just below Tampa. As with any trip to Orlando, we did the theme parks (more on that in future blogs) and we did the space Centre at Merritt Island before having a very relaxing time in the keys.

This picture shows the long walk I had to the canal each morning.

20120723-173537.jpg

This is my prize Sting Ray catch (picture does not do it justice).

20120723-173627.jpg

I have to say that we have been very fortunate to have some great holidays of late, but for me, this one takes some beating, as Florida is just awesome and is an experience I will never forget.

Over the weekend, I got the opportunity to catch up on the technology in the news and the main interest was the contrasting fortunes of some major providers. Clearly some very bad news for Vodafone, as revenues have plummeted across Europe due to a weak economy and increased competition, as well as Microsoft, who reported their first quarterly loss in their 26 year history; mainly due to the acquisition of online ad service aQuantive.

In amongst all this doom and gloom, Google appear to still be on a roll with a huge increase in sales and profitability. Net income for the quarter was $2.79bn and revenue rose 35% to $12.21bn.

There are indeed high stakes to be made in this consumerisation market if in the right place with the right products! It does make me wonder which of the big software and mobile giants will be around in the next 18-24 months, as decisions on road maps and product development will make or break certain businesses.

Microsoft is pinning a lot of its hope on Windows 8 to enter the consumerisation market, but the jury is out for me on whether the consumer market will adopt Windows based devices whilst Apple and Android have such a grip!

No doubt applications will play a key part in the short term, as there is a much wider range of apps for Apple and Android devices, but will this balance of power change if HTML 5 and web applications take over?

Interesting how flexible devices and their apps have become. At the weekend, I considered buying a digital alarm clock radio to replace my ageing Sony device and then realised that I had everything and more within my existing iPod Touch for a fraction of the cost! Funny eh?

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

