garrylengthorn

25-Jul-12 Personal goals 2012

In Blog, Personal, Sports, Travel on July 25, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Now I bet you were all looking forward to Florida stage 2, but I’m going to keep you all in suspense for another day or day, as I realised it has been almost a month since announcing my personal goals for 2012 and no update has been forthcoming!

If you recall, my personal goals were the following:

– Run a half marathon
– Finish our loft (flooring, insulation and train set)
– Visit a new island in the UK
– Cook and Eat a fish I catch
– Get my blog on the freshly pressed homepage on WordPress
– Discover and meet a new relative

Hmm. Now where do I begin. In simple terms, nothing has been achieved, so let’s focus on what’s been considered!

Run a half marathon:
The options are an event in Dorking (hilly) or the Run to the beat event in Greenwich, which I missed last year due to illness.

The favourite is the later event, as much flatter (unlike my tummy) and the only challenge is convincing my wife to run it again!

Finish our loft:
Now I have a definite excuse for this one, as we have been away and now we are experiencing a heat wave!

The plan is to defer this as long as possible (September), so August is all about planning.

Visit a new island in the UK:
This is a good one, as the smart money is on making this an excuse for a weekend away!

As most of you can tell by now, one of my obsessions is holidays (hmm. Vacations) and I don’t need much encouragement! Options at the moment to be considered are the Channel Islands or Burgh Island (Devon). Now where is the best place to fish?

Cook and Eat a fish I catch:
Now this must fall in the category of killing two birds with one stone (and all that)! Apparently Burgh Island is a good option for Mackerel. Thank god my wife does not read my blog. What an opportunity though eh?

Get my blog on the freshly pressed homepage on WordPress:
Now you be the judge of this. Do I really stand a chance? The smart money says no, so clearly I need to brush up my skills over the coming weeks and just cross my fingers!

Seriously, any advice from my fellow bloggers?

Discover and meet a new relative:
Hmm. Did I really decide to do all of these? This could take some creative thinking from me (Something I’ve prided myself on in the past).

This sounds like a subscription to Ancestry.co.uk and some proper digging.

Hmm. Maybe I can find a long lost relative in Australia and visit this large island. Run half a marathon to the beach and fish for a Tuna before eating it, blog about it and then return to England to finish off the loft.

Sounds like September sorted. Florida stage 2 tomorrow? Here’s a video to wet the appetite! One of the few rides I was brave enough to do!

Slush Gusher

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

