garrylengthorn

27-Jul-12 Roll on the games

In Blog, Olympics, Personal on July 27, 2012 at 6:27 am

Today’s blog is dedicated to my affection for London and the fact that we are hosting the biggest sporting event on the planet.

20120727-075817.jpg

For those who do not know, I was born in Deptford, London, so feel very proud that the spotlight of the world at this time is on on our capital, which I personally believe is the best city in the world.

Yes, I am biased, but how many other cities have such a diverse culture living in such a small footprint all getting along with each other, whilst being surrounded by the most amazing architecture and history.

I cannot disagree that London has it problems; especially in this time of economic challenges, but we certainly know how to host events (how good was that Queen’s Jubilee weekend) and make people welcome.

When we won the rights to stage the games 8 years ago, there were the cynics who said it would cost too much, stretch our transport system and would leave us with a legacy that we might want to forget! To be fair, those cynics are probably still bleating now and will continue to moan!

Just like all of our politicians and respected individuals are doing right now, I would encourage everyone to embrace this event and do all we can personally to make it a success, as I’ve no doubt this event will leave us with some wonderful sporting memories just like we have experienced in the past.

My earliest memories in the 70’s and 80’s were of Wilkie, Coe, Ovett and Thompson taking sport to a level in this country, which inspired me (like any other teenager) to aspire to sporting success.

Sport is a wonderful opportunity for everyone of all ages and we should never take this for granted. Hopefully a new breed of Olympians will be enjoying their first experience of this event this summer and will have golden memories of our most talented individuals today.

I’ve no doubt the next couple of weeks will bring some frustrations with disruptions to trains, overcrowding and poor weather, but let’s remember the spirit of those Londoners over the years who have picked themselves up and smiled through their moments of misfortune.

As I complete my blog, I am waiting for HMS Belfast to fire its cannons and signal the start of bells ringing everywhere across London. The sense of excitement is amazing!

20120727-080318.jpg

London and in fact Britain is a great place to live and therefore ‘Let the games begin’ and let’s be truly great team GB’!

  1. Here here! Come on GB!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

