garrylengthorn

10-Aug-12 Been quiet? Olympics eh!

In Blog, Personal, Sports on August 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

So you’ve probably wondered what’s happened to my blog over the last week or two? In one word “Olympics”!

In fact there are probably two words, “Work” and “Olympics”, but the later has meant that all my personal time has been consumed with Athletes “doing their thing” and watching Team GB excel!

20120810-181825.jpg

How good was this “MO” ment. One of best for me….

Today is my first half hearted attempt, as the games start to ease off before the crescendo in the Olympic stadium on Sunday evening.

I’m sure, like me, these games have completely captured you and inspired you. Certainly they have lived up to their motto to “inspire a generation”.

20120810-182023.jpg

There could be only one medal colour for Grainger. How we all wanted it to be gold!

I wont attempt to even capture what we have seen over the last two weeks (in this blog), but we have probably seen one of the greatest ever Olympic games and right on our own door step.

Everyone of our team GB medal winners has been inspirational, as well as those who actually even qualified, as we cannot even start to consider the personal pain they have gone through over the last 4 years to achieve their ambitions!

20120810-182219.jpg

How did Jess handle the pressure. Pure class always shines through!

If I have one regret, it’s the fact that we missed out on Olympic tickets, but I’m expecting the tickets that we have for the Paralympics to make up for that.

This event has reminded me of everything that is “Great” about Britain.

20120810-182350.jpg

The greatest GB Olympian of all time. Chris Hoy, the real McCoy!

  1. We were lucky enough to be there on the Saturday morning when Jess jumped out of her skin, it was brilliant and I hope you enjoy the Paralympics just as much.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

