garrylengthorn

13-Aug-12 The challenges of IT

In Blog, Personal, Technology on August 13, 2012 at 6:14 am

A couple of weeks ago, I used my blog space to talk about my new role, which has a diverse mixture of service and technical management responsibilities associated with it.

When friends and family ask me what I do, it’s always difficult to explain the nature of my role, so over the coming weeks I will try and introduce some of the challenges associated with my role and bring it to life with some context.

20120813-180417.jpg

Are you sure you want to know what I do? I’m not boring you?

With this in mind, it’s worth clarifying the size of my team and the scale of what we do. My team of direct and indirect staff is over 50 people, who all have technical and service skills. This is part of a wider function, which is currently 118 people in size.

This function provide Information Technology services to over 2000 people in 60+ offices and 17 countries globally.

20120813-180824.jpg

We got the whole world in our hands!

In terms of my specific part of the function and my teams, we provide the technical components that provide people within our business the ability to do their job. Whether that be the telephone on their desk, their computer, printer, email or general web browsing. Fun eh!

20120813-185610.jpg

A typical office desktop without the user!

By providing the components on people’s desks and in the office, there is a whole architecture of devices behind these that need implementing, configuring, patching and upgrading. Unfortunately due to the nature of technology, this is often quite frequently and this brings all sorts of challenges, as these devices need to work together.

To put this in to prospective, we support thousands of devices spread around the world running various technology platforms!

Of course, all of these things can go wrong, and frequently do, hence a specific section of my team are dedicated to supporting these components, and more importantly, the people who are using them.

With each new decade or generation, there are new challenges. The current being consumerisation and Cloud, as people want to exploit their own technology at work to complement what they already have in the office. This continually forces us to review what we have and whether it is fit for use. I guess this is what keeps me and my team in a day job!

20120813-185927.jpg

The latest consumerisation gadget. What next?

In my next blog on work, I will try to explain a bit more detail as to how we cope with these technical and service challenges.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

