garrylengthorn

16-Aug-12 What did the Romans ever do for us?

In Blog, Personal, Technology on August 16, 2012 at 6:23 am

After my blog touching society and politics over the last couple of days, I thought it about time that I return my attention to technology or specifically my own week in IT, as lots of things have been going on.

As some of my regular readers will know, for some time we have been working on some key service improvements and one of these, our new Intranet page and support portal went live late last week.

Although there are many people who played a role, there are four individuals who deserve a special mention (Marc Christophides, Rebecca Smith, James Bellshaw and Sital Thankey), as their input to driving this through was outstanding!

Sometimes your hard work (just like the romans) is not always appreciated! This time it is.

Although the revamp of our Intranet page was mainly around branding and marketing of IT, it is the support portal, which I see as a stepping stone to us providing improved services, as the new sections provide our customers with visibility of outages, service information and user guides, as well as self help documents!

It’s funny though how the most popular feature has been the ‘Meet the team’ section!

In amongst all of this major change going on, other business as usual activities have been ongoing with a number of internal and external meetings to define the the technical roadmap for the later part of this year and 2013. As this evolves, I will try and share some of this in my blog.

The other Interesting piece of work that I have become involved in is the subject of ‘Women in IT’.

Although the industry clearly has a bit of a skills shortage, only 19-20% of roles are currently occupied by women, so I am actively involved with a number of internal and external colleagues to understand what we can do to try and inspire a generation (sounds like the Olympics) to enter our profession.

20120816-182316.jpg

The legacy of the games! Can we inspire women to work with us Geeks?

If anyone out there has any ideas, it would be great to hear?

  1. I have a few theories why they don’t, but none on how to change that 😦

  2. Well, they are probably fairly stereotypical, but I think that teenage girls spend less time gaming on computers and it seems that gaming introduces the concept of ” cheats ” and ” shortcuts” and the ‘ stuff’ behind the scenes that makes games and then computers tick. By contrast, the ladies tend to use programs as they are, for their designated purpose, with less experimentation. And I think it is the confidence that experimentation gives to the boys that gives them the confidence and interest to pursue this as a career. I am not a teenage girl (it may surprise you to know!) but I tend to find that I simply don’t get the time to spend uninterrupted hours working something out with the necessary attention, because of the other demands on my time – family etc. As I said, fairly stereotypical theories! And no suggestions about how to change it – sorry!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

