garrylengthorn

17-Aug-12 Hmm. Greggs!

In Blog, Personal on August 17, 2012 at 6:07 am

It’s Friday and the weekend is upon us once again. As I finalise my blog, I’m about to enjoy a pint or two before heading home from the City of London.

This morning, I had my first experience of the Boris bike scheme that operates around the City and West End of London and it was a very positive one.

20120817-171940.jpg

Hmm. Now which one shall I choose?

As referenced in my blog on Wednesday (‘Is Boris mad?’), I registered via the t’internet to the annual scheme on Tuesday and yesterday I received my fob key, which allows you to get do a quick release on the bike each day.

In fact it’s quite simple. The only flaw is that I’m not sure the literature you get explains that you have to lift the bike up and pull it to get it out!

After several failed attempts, I watched someone else and realised what an idiot I had been. And yes, before you say it, I work in IT (and should know this)!

The bike ride is was good. As my journey in to London terminates at Waterloo, I took the ride from their to a bike stand beside the Monument before rewarding myself with a Greggs breakfast!

20120817-172225.jpg

Hmm. How lovely is this!

Certainly the bikes aren’t light, so it may take a few days for my legs to adjust to this exercise. Especially as there are only 3 gears! A 1.5 mile journey each way though, so 3 miles a day with the return journey should start building up my fitness levels!

So it’s hats off to Boris again. I am, as my cousin Phil commented the other day, becoming his number one fan! Worrying eh! Enjoy your weekends!

  1. Please Garry no more praise for Boris!!!!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

