garrylengthorn

30-Aug-12 One frozen mackerel please!

In Blog, Personal on August 30, 2012 at 6:53 am

It’s Thursday and a long overdue update on my personal goals for 2012, as yet another month is about to slip by and nothing completed so far!

If you recall, my personal goals were the following:

– Run a half marathon
– Finish our loft (flooring, insulation and train set)
– Visit a new island in the UK
– Cook and Eat a fish I catch
– Get my blog on the freshly pressed homepage on WordPress
– Discover and meet a new relative

Run a half marathon
If you recall from my last update on this, this is proving a tad tricky, as need to find an event to support a realistic training schedule! At the moment, a possible solution is the BHF Midnight Half Marathon in October. Watch this space.

20120830-161839.jpg

Has anyone got my torch? I’ve lost my way!

Finish our loft (flooring, insulation and train set)
As most of you know, this was always the most likely to fail due to my reputation with doing DIY. You will be pleased to know this is still the most likely, as no progress made!

Visit a new island in the UK
This particular one is now taking shape. A long weekend in Poole is being planned with a subsequent visit to Brownsea Island. Looking like October for this one.

20120830-161552.jpg

Now that looks nice. I bet it rains when we visit!

Cook and Eat a fish I catch
Literally today I’ve started the planning with my brother for a fishing day at Brighton marina, as I’ve heard this is a great spot for Mackerel. Would appreciate if anyone has any thoughts on this or other ideas? My daughter suggested hooking a frozen fish at Iceland and bringing it home to cook (I did laugh)!

Get my blog on the freshly pressed homepage on WordPress
Ultimately this is down to my readers and the popularity of my blog. I’m trying all I can to entice new readers and make it interesting. I’ve then just got to hope that I make the front page one day!

Discover and meet a new relative
This challenge has probably taken up more of my time than anything else,
But literally just a few days ago, I have discovered four direct connections and one indirect connection through the work I have done and the next stage is confirming we have a link. Fingers crossed, this is looking good!

  1. If you’re going to Brighton Marina, why not book a boat and go out into the sea – you catch mackerel and then use them as bait to catch cod…

    • Love the idea Bob, but something that I have never referenced is that I do not have good sea legs! Going on a rowing boat in the serpentine would make me sea sick. My brothers idea was best, which was for the fishmonger at Sainsbury’s to throw me a mackerel to catch! 😀

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

