garrylengthorn

02-Sep-12 I wanna tell you a story!

In Blog, Personal on September 1, 2012 at 9:49 pm

It was a real shame late yesterday, as Max Bygraves, the British entertainer, died in Australia at the ripe old age of 89.

20120902-194710.jpg

Quite an all round entertainer.

Max was famous for his saying ‘I wanna tell you a story’ and as children we grew up with watching Max on television. By a strange twist of fate, we were only talking about him a couple of weeks ago when drinking in Rotherhithe, as according to my dad, that’s where he lived (according to Wikipedia, he was born in Rotherhithe in 1922). RIP Mr Bygraves, legend of an era of stand up entertainers.

Today we went and saw the new Batman movie, ‘The Dark Night Rises’, in Wimbledon, making it a very lazy Sunday afternoon. Grainne and Thomas have both wanted to see this film for weeks, so because Georgina was out to dinner with her mates in Wimbledon, it made a perfect opportunity for us to catch a movie. For those who have yet to see this latest episode of the sequels, I’d thoroughly recommend it. As per the previous movies, it is certainly all action, but the story line is clever and leaves an interesting opening for the next film in the sequence at the end.

Whilst thinking about this, it made me think of this classic video. Enjoy.

It’s been a long time since we last went out for a jog, so tonight we got ourselves out for a brief mile. Hopefully this will be the first of many on getting ourselves prepared for a half marathon.

To round off the day, I got a call from one of my long lost cousins on the back of the ancestry work I have been doing. It was a wonderful surprise and has filled a number of further gaps in my family tree, which I will share in my blog later this week.

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

