garrylengthorn

14-Sep-12 Is it really 20 years?

In Blog, Personal on September 13, 2012 at 1:45 pm

No blog for a couple of days, as I’ve been quite a busy bee. On Wednesday, it was our 20th wedding anniversary. As I keep telling Grainne, I’d be out now for doing any other crime (she knows I’m only joking)!

Don’t worry, I am not going to bore you all with the details of our romantic dinner date evening we had in London, but I thought I would share this panoramic photo I took with Photosynth of the London skyline from a bar called Sky Lounge (Photosynth has become one of my best applications for moments like these. I just need to work out how to use it properly)! By the way, Sky Lounge, located on the 12th floor of the Hilton Doubletree hotel has got to be one of the best places for some pre dinner drinks. A tad expensive, but the atmosphere and view is brilliant.

20120914-134704.jpg

What a view. Now where did I leave that drink (and wife)?

Last night, I had Thursday night football, and although I never had a late one (after drinking on Wednesday), I ran out of time for blogging again.

There’s been a few things going on in my technical world this week. Of course, the big news in the press is the upcoming release of the iPhone on 21st September and IOS 6 two days before.

Surprisingly the world seems a bit divided on this particular launch. Personally, I think Apple have played a safe bet and are on another winner in the build up to that festive event happening latter this year (refusing to mention it in my blog, because I have a passion for keeping it in December)!

The main issue I see is cost. I’ve literally purchased a Samsung for my daughter today on a contract because of cost. If they had been comparable, I probably would have gone for an iPhone device. I suspect though that is because I love the syncing capability between my devices. For Georgina and her generation, it is all about the applications, which unfortunately is where my Windows mobile device completely fails!

Thankfully IOS 6 will support some of the existing i products, which include my iPod Touch (4th generation) and generation 2 iPad. Phew!

This week has been another very busy week at work, with a lot of time spent on project planning in relation to our roadmap of products for 2013 and the associated budget planning.

In between, I’ve had the opportunity to explore some of the new features that our latest version of Good for the Enterprise delivered last week. Although it’s only the first version, I’ve been getting to grips with the Windows mobile version. The jury’s out on this one at the moment. Watch this space.

The other stuff (tasks and documents) in the IOS client is pretty cool. Now I need an android to test! Ideally I would buy an android, but as stated earlier, I do like syncing stuff between my Apple devices. Anyone any ideas?

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

