garrylengthorn

20-Sep-12 Speak up!

In Blog, Personal on September 18, 2012 at 5:19 pm

This week, I got my first ever experience of public speaking at a security conference hosted by IDC in London. The closest I have ever got to this previously was being best man at one of my best mates (Bazza) wedding many years ago, reading a poem at my nieces wedding two years ago and a number of speaking engagements with my own IT team.

I committed to doing this about 6 months ago (probably seemed like a good idea at the time), as Good Technology were looking for various speakers at events they were attending.

My slot, which was very late in the day, was a case study of our recent implementation of Good for the Enterprise in front of around 100 people. By the time I got on, the number had decreased to about 50, but it was still challenging!

Being my first event, it was far from ideal to get one of the graveyard slots late in the day, but I tried to use the 25 minutes to my advantage to deliver something a bit more real and engaging, which is difficult enough at a security conference!

20120920-180834.jpg

I think it went OK (did not notice anyone asleep in the audience). Certainly it was nice to have a complete stranger walk up to me after the event and say my presentation was very good. It was much appreciated after all the preparation and anxiety!

It’s bizarre how every single doubt goes through your mind in the preparation. Especially as it was a subject that I was very comfortable with talking about and generally I don’t mind talking in public if I can get everyone to listen! I will say that I used the 7/7 bombing incident as some inspiration. During lunchtime, feeling nervous, I went for a walk around Russell Square and realised that there was much more dreadful things in life and some people come through these and create role models for us all (Martine Wright). It put everything in to prospective for the afternoon ahead and gave me a real focus.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/olympics/paralympic-sport/9507257/Paralympics-2012-sitting-volleyballer-Martine-Wright-will-realise-her-Games-dream-after-surviving-London-bombings.html

In the evening, I got the opportunity to go to Millwall. I have to say it was one of the worst performances I have seen down the Den for years (we got beat 2-0 by Cardiff)! It was made even more frustrating by the fact I could have stayed at home and seen Real Madrid beat Manchester City 3-2! Hardly the greatest way to finish the day, but I can assure you, the pint I had there, went down very well!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

