garrylengthorn

12-Oct-12 No more budgets please!

In Blog, Personal, Uncategorized on October 12, 2012 at 6:12 pm

The end of another week! Budgets, budgets and more budgets this week, but at least I’ve got to a stage where first drafts have been submitted!

This week, I’ve had lots of opportunities to play with my new Google Nexus 7 and I have to stay that I am very impressed.

Yes it lacks the screen estate of the iPad and also 3G, but what a reliable device this is for my particular needs; especially as I use it for work via Good to access my email and calendar (much better than an Apple device, as it syncs in the background when a network connection is present), my social interaction via Twitter, Facebook and Linkedin, as well as accessing my personal emails.

As I am fortunate enough to use a Mi-Fi device (mobile dongle), I can use the two hour commute each day to full effect.

This week, I was an attendee at our CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) committee meeting, which was hosted by our chairman, Clay Blendish, as I represent the technology strand at SThree. For those who are not familiar with CSR, typically its focus is about how your organisation supports the environment, community and workplace.

image

It was an absolute pleasure to get to meet Clay and get first hand experience of his business knowledge that has clearly made him successful. I am also working on this project with some extremely talented SThree staff, which is also exciting.

I’ve since been reminded that Clay owns a Fishery. Hmm. One of my personal targets is eating a fish I catch! I wonder if I dare mention!

I also started my investigations this week in to Solar panel systems. As you are probably aware, the government is providing incentives for home owners to install these systems, which involve a number of large panels installed on the roof.

Its a bit like buying double glazing, whereby the salesman just think you will pay the first price quoted (typically 30-40% dearer than it should be). With these solutions, its probably even easier to sell, as you actually get a return due to an annual cash refund incentive, as well as a reduction in your bill. I intend to follow up with these over the weekend and will keep you updated on my shrewd negotiations!

image

Use up as much power as you like Grainne. Its sunny out here!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

