garrylengthorn

30-Oct-12 One down, five to go…

In Blog, Personal on October 28, 2012 at 8:38 pm

Yesterday I completed one of my personal moments for 2012, which was to visit an island in the UK I have never visited before.

The photos in my blog today show that we visited Brownsea Island off the coast of Poole, which is not only famous for the first camp site of the Scout movement, but also for one of the few places in southern England where indigenous red squirrels survive.

20121029-115033.jpg

Brownsea Castle. Another castle built for Henry VIII!

20121029-114110.jpg

Brownsea Island is actually sited in Poole Harbour, which is the second largest natural harbour in the world. The first is Sydney in Australia.

20121029-114248.jpg

In the middle of this picture, if you squint, is the very rare Red Squirrel.

  1. Well done on your first personal moment! Looks like a good place to visit and to see red squirrels must be great! xx

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

