garrylengthorn

07-Jan-13 Janatech!

In Blog, charity, Consumerisation, Personal, Sports, Technology on January 7, 2013 at 5:16 pm

As most of my long suffering blog readers know, I typically share my experience and views on technology. Today is no different, as I return to work for the first time after the festive break; but with a Janathon twist!

Today’s run was the most difficult yet, as the first signs of wear and tear are becoming evident (sore muscles). Even so, both myself and Grainne did a slow 2.59 miles in dry conditions again!

20130107-195727.jpg

It occurred to me this evening that Janathon (for me), although very simple, involves a lot of underlying technology that is a factor of how it has become consumerised.

My run is tracked and mapped using GPS on my MapMyRun application using my Windows Mobile phone. As I normally also use the Nike+ application and training shoe sensor to map my runs, I also carry my iPod to record my mileage and speed (before you ask, the Nike+ application is not available on my Windows version. The iPod does not have GPS).

Once the run is completed, I write my blog using WordPress on my iPad (perfect screen size) and copy in my map using the Apple photo application.

After all of this, I share my blog to various social media forums using my Google Nexus, WordPress and the share facility, as I find it the easiest way to custom your posts and share the link (the Apple / WordPress capability is not so good).

And there you have it, a real Janatech using 4 devices and 3 applications!

My stats according to MapMyRide:
Day 7 – 4.16km / 2.59 miles
Janathon to date – 23.93km / 14.87 miles
Days running in dry conditions – 7/7!

  1. Janatech? Sounds like a regular feature?

  2. I’m using just the one device, a Samsung Galaxy S II recording on CardioTrainer. I’ve had a few problems though. Initially my routes were cutting huge corners out but I fixed this by setting the update interval from 30 to 10 seconds. More annoyingly it has completely failed to get a GPS signal for an entire run once. The mileage was still fairly accurate though as it falls back to using the acceleraometer as a pedometer.

    Have you had any problems with your tech?

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

