garrylengthorn

21-Jan-13 The run is broken!

In Blog, charity, Personal, Sports on January 21, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Unfortunately my run of runs came to an end today much to my frustration and disappointment. During January, I’ve run in snow, rain, hot and cold conditions, but I had to give up this evening due to ice!

After much deliberation after a very careful walk home from the station, I realised that it was just plain stupid to go out, so tonight I had to find an alternative to make up for letting down my colleagues who are doing this for charity.

The answer. After searching on the Internet, I discovered that the amount of calories burned in doing 3 miles was the same as 90 minutes on Just Dance on the Wii (oh no)!

20130121-224335.jpg

So about 35 minutes later and I feel like I have run 10 miles! Was that really reliable that information I found on Google!

For evidence, here I am about to do Gangnam Style, a popular choice at the moment!

20130121-224410.jpg

Fingers crossed for a warm day tomorrow!

My stats according to MapMyRun:
Day 21 – 0 miles / 35 minutes on Just Dance!
Janathon to date – 61.86miles
Days running in dry conditions – 16/20 – 1 on Just Dance!

I am keeping everything crossed that the ice will thaw a touch tomorrow and we can get out, as I now have a tough job of completing the 38 miles I need to compete in 10 days!

Me and a number of my colleagues at SThree are doing Janathon for orphaned children through SOS Children’s Villages. Our goal is to try and raise £1,000 through our own and others donations.

  1. With modern technology am thinking a video of yourself doing the Gangnam Style will increase the money raised for your charity……… 😊

  2. I had to do the same. I did some walking and some Kinnect. I will be able to run again from tomorrow as will be back in the lunch time regime at GPS, but when I’m not in that office I don’t have the shower option and it is thick ice in Loughton now so no chance of running there for a few days at least!

    You certainly haven’t let anyone down by the way!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

