garrylengthorn

03-Feb-13 No more Janathon!

In Blog, charity, Personal, Sports on February 3, 2013 at 11:41 am

On Thursday, after my final blog of Janathon, I promised an update the next day; well here’s that update two days later, as I’ve quite enjoyed not having to press out a blog or run for that matter!

My final Janathon total was 100.57 miles, which I ran in just over 20 hours; I ran every day, apart from one day, when I was restricted to Just Dance on the Wii!

20130203-115012.jpg

In one week I ran / walked a marathon, whilst over the month, I completed nearly 4 marathons! The longest run in any one day being 6.05 miles,

It’s now all about the money. As I write my blog, we have now raised £693 across our multitude of sites. If you’ve been inspired by our Janathon feat, enjoyed our blogs or just want to support a very worthy cause, please donate just a small amount today on our charity website, as everything we raise will be doubled by SThree.

Our original aim was to raise £1,000, but with SThree doubling the amount, we now have a great chance of raising £1,500. So please please dig deep and donate anything you can. It will be much appreciated.

20130203-120804.jpg

This is our main charity page. http://www.justgiving.com/sthreeplc

From today, although I am going to continue running (3 / 4 times a week), I will start going back to blogging about technology and specifically things that are enabling consumerisation (tablets, mobile and applications).

Saying that, Janathon has truly inspired me to not only keep fit, but also to try and support more charitable causes this year. Whether that be organisations like SOS Children’s Villages or underprivileged children in other areas who would love the opportunity to develop their skills or just work!

I’ve already got plans with some work colleagues for a big walk in the summer; more information to follow over the coming weeks, plus I’m hoping to continue with my goals and complete an half marathon at some point.

  1. Heya! I know this is kind of off-topic however I needed to
    ask. Does managing a well-established website like yours take
    a large amount of work? I am brand new to blogging however I do
    write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

