garrylengthorn

04-Feb-13 TV is smarter than me!

In Blog, BYOD, Consumerisation, Technology on February 4, 2013 at 9:33 am

I’ve just made my latest investment in computer technology. Before you ask, its not another Apple or Google device, but this time a product from Samsung; a 22″ smart TV device.

image

Now I’ve already made a previous investment in a smart TV from Samsung, but I have to say that this one has some fantastic features built in!

Yes, it has all the normal things I’d expect smart TV’s to now have (BBC iPlayer, YouTube etc), but I was impressed that it has wireless capability now built in, as well as being Skype ready (if you add a camera).

Well I was impressed until I started setting it up!

The first problem I experienced was the digital reception. Now we hardly live in the back end of beyond, so I was startled that the reception in our kitchen would be that bad. After all, if I was on the roof, I’d be able to see Crystal Palace in the distance!

image

After all the neatness of a wall mounted LED, it is now accompanied by the biggest indoor aerial I could find to get digital coverage! Surely there has to be a better way to fix this?

The second problem I experienced was the wireless speed. This was noticeable when playing BBC iPlayer by the constant buffering (as you will know from a previous blog, my BT broadband connection was upgraded a few months ago to Infinity).

As any techie would do, I referred to the manual for any obvious settings that were wrong and then the web site for any latest patches, but everything appears correct and up to date.

As I write my blog, the TV is doing an update after attempting to load the built in web browser. A fix that the Samsung web site suggested. This update has now been running for over an hour! Is digital really the future?

  1. You could always flog it to Drewett.

    • I would but unfortunately it is not 3d, which I think is the world he lives in, as he sees things very differently to everyone else! 🙂
      Glad to see you commenting again on my blog now that Janathon has gone for good!

  2. Sounds like you’ve had a frustrating evening trying to set it up! For the bin, I’d say!

  3. Hello, I believe your website could be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your website in Safari, it looks
    fine however, when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, wonderful blog!

  4. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this web site needs a
    great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

keeleyemmett's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Linda's Blog

...my comings and goings ...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

Freedom Ladies

Exploring London

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

rage against age

Finding challenges, mental and physical, to keep in shape

plustenner

Don't call me a runner, I just like to run

My daily Blog sharing my joys of life, sports and technology

staceycabrera

making exercise a lifestyle

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

arthurjob

Just another WordPress.com site

andyjjohnson1

My Janathon blog

fairweatherrunner

running blog

Literary Mermaid

Snippets of the life of an orange haired, wannabe mermaid who loves to read

Values | Culture | Brand | Communications

Adventures in branding, starring values, culture and the employer brand

paulchandler51

Janathon blog

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Back of the Pack Max

I run. I sometimes bike & swim. I like beer. And cookies.

